Committee members

The Code Compliance Committee is an independent compliance monitoring body established under its Charter and the Customer Owned Banking Code of Practice under the authority of the Customer Owned Banking Association.

Dr Sue-Anne Wallace AM, Independent Chairperson

BPharm, BA (Hons), PhD, Grad Cert Mgt, Adv Dip Arts, FAICD

Appointed: 18 February 2014 Term expires: 18 February 2019 (final term)

Sue-Anne has extensive experience in the not-for-profit sector. Now in her fifth year as independent chairman of Customer Owned Banking Code Compliance Committee, she is also Vice-President of the international certifier Humanitarian Quality Assurance Initiative (Geneva) and deputy chair of the Code Authority of the Fundraising Institute Australia. She was formerly chair of the Australian Council for International Development’s Code of Conduct. She holds non-executive director positions with several charitable organisations.

For the past 14 years, Sue-Anne has focused on governance and self-regulation in the not-for-profit sector. In 2014 she was awarded a Churchill Fellowship to investigate self-regulatory codes of conduct and complaints handling in the not-for-profit sector.

In 2017, Sue-Anne was appointed as a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to the not-for-profit sector, particularly through fundraising reform and codes of conduct.

Anita Schut, Industry Representative

BA (Asian Studies), Grad Dip Personnel Mgt

Appointed: 1 January 2014 Term expires: 31 December 2019 (final term)

Anita is the Head of Legal, Governance and Compliance at Unity Bank and is the informal Chair and founder of the NSW Mutual Compliance Group. She has more than 20 years’ experience working in compliance, including as Banking Compliance Manager for Citibank Australia, and has extensive broader financial services industry experience including lending, human resources and project management roles.

Anita has completed the Australian Compliance Institute Certified Compliance Professional program.

Carolyn Bond AO, Consumer Representative

Appointed: 1 March 2015 Term expires: 28 February 2020 (final term)

Carolyn has worked in the consumer advocacy field for more than 20 years, focusing primarily on issues such as consumer credit, debt collection and high pressure selling.  Carolyn was co-CEO of the Consumer Action Law Centre, and Chair of the Consumers Federation of Australia.  She has represented consumers on a number of bodies including the Commonwealth Consumer Affairs Advisory Council and the ASIC Consumer Advisory Committee.  She has been a director of the Victorian Legal Services Board, the former Banking and Financial Services Ombudsman and the Energy and Water Ombudsman Victoria.

Carolyn is currently supporting community organisations to contribute to industry policies which improve financial outcomes for family violence victims.  She is a director of the Financial Counselling Foundation and the Financial Advisers Standards and Ethics Authority.

Back to the top